top of page
Search
Writer's picturejennyaylett

Having a healthy lifestyle: my tips and experience.

Hey, it's Jen. Welcome back to another blog by the Chic Geek. Thank you for checking out my most recent post. Today I am going to be discussing the importance of having a balanced and healthy lifestyle.


So let's begin! There are many factors that contribute to be a happy and healthy person. Those include: eating healthy, exercising, going outdoors and being surrounded by positive people in a welcoming environment.


I personally think that being healthy doesn't just mean eating a balanced diet and going to the gym a lot (although this does contribute)! However, having a healthy lifestyle means you have to focus on not just your body but also your mind.


So how do we take care of our minds and bodies? To take care of our minds we should make sure to relax and unwind, there are multiple de-stressing activities that can help with this. For example, reading, writing, journaling, going outside, practicing mindfulness, having a self care day & much more!! All of these activities concentrate on making the mind a calm and peaceful place. To take care of our bodies we can eat a healthy and balanced diet, exercise frequently, go outdoors/get fresh air, do activities that make us happy (baking, singing etc...) and build friendships and relationships with uplifting people that make us feel happy and comfortable.


For me personally exercise, healthy eating and mindfulness are really interesting and enjoyable. I love exercise as it makes me feel like I have accomplished something and also after doing it I feel really motivated to continue my day with more positive activities. I enjoy eating healthy (although I love chocolate so much!!) as it makes me feel clean and fresh and also I find fruits & veggies delicious. Mindfulness is something I love practicing, for those of you who don't understand the concept of mindfulness I will give you my own definition: taking notice of the small things in life and not worrying about the past or future but focusing on the present. I have found so many helpful things to guide and support me with being mindful, I made a reel on Instagram showing some of them and I will list them here with my thoughts on them.


The book Calm by Fearne Cotton: a really interesting read that focuses on maintaining a state of calmness even in challenging situations and not rushing through life- enjoying each moment (the positive & the negative).

The book Mindfulness and the Natural World by Claire Thompson: this is definitely one of my favourite books as it gives a detailed insight on how to practice mindfulness and shows the authors experience.

The aromatherapy oils for your pulse points by Tisserand: this little package of 3 oils comes with three different scents, each one having a different purpose.

Diffuser & oils: I love my diffuser so much and it came with a box full of so many oils all of different scents which help with different things. I usually use it when practicing yoga or doing meditation or if I want my room to smell good!!

Yoga mat by Pido Yoga: really good quality and made from a good material making it easy to balance on, also I got a pretty shade of pink which makes doing Yoga even more enjoyable.

I have also just started a book called Ikigai which is really interesting and focuses on how to have a happy and long life. There are probably so many more items I could have spoken about however these products mentioned above have been the main things I use to help me be healthy, happy & mindful.


Thank you for reading my latest blog post, make sure to listen to my Podcasts, follow my Instagram (@thechicgeekbyjen) and look out for my blog posts: my next one will focus on back to school preparation and I think that if you become a member to my blog on Wix you'll be able to receive notifications so you'll know when I have uploaded a new blog.


The Chic Geek


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page