top of page
Search
Writer's picturejennyaylett

Hygge: the Danish way to live well.

Hey! I haven't posted a blog for a while now which I've really missed. The past couple of months have consisted of lots of walking, reading, studying and self care. I have been focusing on self improvement a lot and being in nature. As I am in year 11, it has definitely been more of a challenge to frequently create blogs and podcasts. But once I have finished school this May, I will be able to dedicate much more time to creating content. Although I have a busy schedule, I update on my Instagram page every day, either as stories or posts! So if you want more quotes, nature photography and cosiness head to @thechicgeekbyjen on Instagram.


Today's blog is going to be based on a book I just finished called The Little Book Of Hygge by Meik Wiking. I have already made a Podcast on this which I will link here, in case you would like to listen. https://open.spotify.com/episode/6B4rQTUHnEn69XyRoMK79p?si=RipMTkjLTlSjcmvecErQlw


I thought it would be nice to reinforce the points covered in my Podcast as this book was such a cosy and insightful read. It covered the key aspects of hygge, its link to happiness, how to include it in your life and the fundamentals of it!


Hygge is feeling cosiness and togetherness. It could be anything from time snuggled up reading with a hot drink, walks wrapped up warm or spending time with loved ones. Hygge is an atmosphere of warmth and happiness, it cannot be bought only created in joyful moments.


The Hygge Manifesto:


(1) atmosphere: creating a comfy space with cosy lighting and ambience.

(2) presence: being in the moment and embracing your current situation.

(3) pleasure: cakes, cookies and yummy comfort food that makes you feel happy.

(4) equality: sharing tasks and burdens, so everyone has equal responsibility.

(5) gratitude: showing appreciation for the pieces of joy and positivity in your life.

(6) harmony: not boasting and competing with others.

(7) comfort: have breaks and relax, take time to recharge and reset.

(8) truce: don't discuss controversial topics, keep everything calm, to avoid dispute.

(9) togetherness: spend quality time with others and make precious memories.

(10) shelter: being in a place of peacefulness and safety.


This is the book, in case you are interested in reading it! I really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.


I cannot wait to post more blogs soon and make sure to also check out my other Podcasts. Have a great day!


The Chic Geek

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page