top of page
Search
Writer's picturejennyaylett

Things to do in January!!

Hey, welcome to another blog. I am so excited for this one, I have a few fun ideas you could implement this month for the New Year.


So let's begin! I love the start of a year, it brings an abundance of new opportunities, experiences and chances. This year I have begun many new habits to ensure I have the most positive start possible. Here are my ideas of things to do in January. :)


  1. Choose some goals/habits you would like to bring into 2021, I have started up yoga again and I have also begun a gratitude journal.

  2. Go on more walks and get more fresh air. During this cold time of year it can be tempting to sit inside and observe nature from the comfort of your home. But, I think being outdoors with nature is such a positive and nourishing activity (even if it's only for 5 minutes!!)

  3. Start a new book, this year I began Ichigo Ichie and The Almanac. Both of these are amazing reads so far and I am really enjoying self-improvement books at the moment.

  4. Spend some time with family, or talk to a friend. As we know during this time it's hard to see people in person. So you could try and make extra effort to speak to a friend or family member virtually.

  5. Begin a new hobby!! I think the New Year is a great time to begin a hobby you've wanted to start. It could be painting, writing, journaling, calligraphy.... There are so many amazing things out there, you could use an online course/tutorial or teach yourself.

  6. Declutter and organise. I think that starting the year fresh, means also having a fresh space to live in. So whether you clean your wardrobe out, dust, or just give everything a clean it will make you feel more reassured living in a cosy space.

  7. Be more open-minded. I think now is a great time to embrace change and seize new opportunities. This year may offer you chances and experiences, that you may not want to accept. Sometimes we can get comfortable in our current position, but every now and then it's vital we branch out, to meet new people and do new things.

  8. Be more mindful. Last year I learnt a lot about mindfulness and I was really interested in experiencing mindfulness more in my day to day life. A great book I would recommend is Mindfulness and the natural world by Claire Thompson. It's a really interesting and eye-opening read, I will definitely be referring to it in the future. Mindfulness is pretty much focusing on everything around us and not being consumed by the past or future, but staying in the present moment.

  9. Another tip I would suggest is to write down how you feel and about your day. I love being able to see my past experiences and days, as well as taking photos, writing can be a great source to look back on. In my Bullet Journal, each day I am writing a sentence about my day.

  10. Final tip, don't push yourself too hard. I say this all the time but it is vital you do everything to ensure you have a healthy mind and body. I think that taking the time for self care and improvement will be so valuable and beneficial for your wellbeing. I know that this has definitely helped me.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this, I hope you choose to start some of these this year. There are many more things you could do, but I wanted to provide you with some goals or habits that may get overlooked.


The Chic Geek

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page